New Moon Blessings: Sacred Breath

This new moon has brought so much renewal. A true peace, clarity, focus and purpose washed over me like a natural breath of cool air (Maferefun Obatala). This new moon in Leo admonishes us to be careful about how we give and receive love. This cycle will bring about renewal in love, self expression, creativity and vitality. As my moon cycle aligns with the phases of the moon, it’s an especially contemplative time for me.

This morning I rose, cleansed myself, organized my space a bit, prepared tea and sat prostrated at my ancestral altar, giving offering to the egun (ancestors), burning incense and lighting candles. I read a prayer to them, beseeching their presence in my life and direction in my path.

I was determined to meditate… something I’ve always struggled with. Instead of seeking guidance this time, the answers came to me from within. The answer was: breathe. Breathe and concentrate on that. The essence of life for humans and countless other creatures; that which breathes life into fire. Then a prayer of mantras formed in my mind, that I’ll share with you:

As sacred as is my breath, as sacred are my thoughts.
As sacred as is my breath, as sacred are my words.
As sacred as is my breath, as sacred is my time.
As sacred as is my breath, as sacred is my space.
As sacred as is my breath, as sacred are my actions.
As sacred as is my breath, as are my creations.
As sacred as is my breath, as are my connections.
As sacred as is my breath, as is my heart.
As sacred as is my breath, as sacred is my body.
As sacred as is my breath, as is my love.
As sacred as is my breath, as is my touch.
As sacred as is my breath, as is my womb.
As sacred as is my breath, as sacred are my possessions.
As sacred as is my breath, as sacred are my prayers.

The endings can be changed as needed, as they come to mind. The beginning “as sacred as is my breath,” is said on a long deep inhale. The breath is held for 5 seconds, and then released on a long exhale, while the second half of the statement is said. This was all said mentally, setting the intention for moving forward with mindful purpose.

I give thanks to Oya, for sacred breath. I give thanks to Obatala, my protector, and and owner of all heads, minds and consciousnesses for steadiness in mind and purpose. For centering my mind, amidst what could be chaos. For enabling manifestation in thought. For being the cool breeze of clarity, patience, wisdom and temperance. Ase Ooo.

Leave a Reply

